List of Western Union Blacklisted Countries

Western Union Remittances are a very important source for people supporting their families from different parts of the world. A large number of people are living outside their homelands away from their families in order to earn more to provide a quality life for their loved ones. 

Western Union blacklisted countries

Western Union has made it easier to transfer money anywhere anytime but sometimes when countries don’t follow the international regulations and compliance terms they are being sanctioned and as a result people suffer as they are not  allowed to make transactions in those blacklisted countries.

In this article we will discuss why countries are being sanctioned By the International Regulatory Bodies and how these sanctions affect the Western Union’s customers and citizens of these countries.

Western Union Blacklisted Countries

There are some countries which are blacklisted by as these countries were unable to maintain the international standards or have violated the International Laws. There is also a list of the Specially Designated Nationals (SDNs) and the individuals or countries which can be involved in activities that violate US National Interest.. Here is a list of Countries that are Blacklisted on Western Union:

  • North Korea
  • Iran
  • Cuba
  • Venezuela
  • Crimea Region (Ukraine/Russia)
  • Specially Designated Nationals (SDNs)

Common Misconceptions:

It is important to understand that these sanctions or limitations are not applied by Western Union as a part of their business decisions. The world of economic sanction is governed by The Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC).

OFAC applies and removes any kind of economic sanctions and limitations to either individuals or entities/countries if they believe sending money to that entity would go against US national interests. 

These regulations have to be followed by all financial institutions including Western Union, and can result in million of dollars of fines if not followed. 

Why are some countries banned with Western Union?

Countries have been linked with each other through trade and benefit each other by working together for a mutual interest. These countries allow their citizens to visit each other for better opportunities to earn a better living. Unfortunately, at some point when countries whose actions are against the International laws get restricted for trade or to make international transactions. 

Office of the Foreign Asset Control (OFAC) is an International regulatory body which oversees and manages the countries through short term and long term restrictions depending upon the political and social evolution. Many countries can be restricted when they are seen as a threat to national security and are therefore banned with Western Union.

Can nationals from banned countries make transfers?

A huge number of the population use Western Union’s services to transfer funds easily and efficiently from one part of the world to another. Western Union is a reputed and trusted company and has made its mark as the most trusted fund transfers service provider.

But there are a few countries which are sanctioned by International regulatory bodies either for not following their guidelines or for their actions which are seen as a threat to the national and International community. 

Yet, their citizens as long as they live in another country are allowed to transfer funds internationally but are not allowed to make transfers to and from the sanctioned countries.

Countries Support by Western Union

Here is a list of countries that are supported by Western Union

  • Albania
  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • American Samoa
  • Angola
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Cook Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Curacao
  • Cyprus
  • Cyprus (Northern)
  • Czech Republic
  • Dem Rep of Congo
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Guiana
  • French Polynesia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guam
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Ivory Coast
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Korea
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrghyz Republic
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Macedonia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Martinique
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Montserrat
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Niue
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Palestinian Authority
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Republic of Nauru
  • Reunion
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Martin
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • United States Virgin Islands
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Can you receive a Western Union from anywhere in the world?

Western Union has almost 500,000 agents located worldwide in over 200 countries. It has many customers around the globe who transfer funds and receive funds on a daily, weekly and monthly basis.

A person can send the funds from whatever country he is residing to the country where the receiver himself is present. Western Union’s cash cannot be collected from anywhere in the world but only from the location to which the sender has sent it. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *